You didn’t miss a warning (about needing to be on the same WiFi network) when you configured the TL recording. But you missed seeing that caveat which is posted in the help pages:-)
"Since it’s a large file transfer, your phone needs to be on the same WiFi network as your Wyze Cam in order to download the time lapse. To download your time lapse, make sure your phone is connected to the same WiFi network as your camera, then tap on the Download icon on the video thumbnail to download the time lapse. This download only needs to be done once. After the
download, the time lapse will be saved to your phone’s gallery and can be viewed in the Album in your Wyze app."
It’s not clear why they insist on this restriction. The rationale that “it’s a large file transfer” is bogus. Large files are transferred over internet connections all the time. Sadly, as things are now, you’ll have to travel to the remote site to extract the TL recording from the camera. Alternately, set up a VPN to the remote site and finesse the TL access through the tunnel.