Wyze Thermostat Install error - Extra wire

I tried to install the Wyze thermostat this weekend, and kept getting the error “Extra wire” for terminals Y2, W2, and *. I do not have wires in any of those connectors. I can click “Try again”, but it keeps coming back with the same error. I can close the Wyze app, and re-open it, then I see my Wyze thermostat. If I try to turn the Cool or Heat on, nothing happens, and after a few seconds the app goes back to “OFF”. I even tried turning on Hold. I tried 2 Wyze thermostats that I ordered, both have the same problem. I had to put my previous thermostat back in, as this was is completely non-functional. I have installed many thermostats over the years, and never had much of a problem. I am an IT tech myself, so I have reasonable experience with installing these type of things.

I live in Florida, my system is a pretty simple 15 year old American Standard heat pump system with backup heat strip for emergency heat.

Here is the error screen

Here is a picture of my Wyze thermostat wiring.

Here is the wiring from my current thermostat, a smart “Radio Thermostat” that I have been using for 6 years.

Here is a picture of my original dumb thermostat that was installed with my system to begin with.
OriginalThermostat

When you tell the wyze what wires you have, are you telling it that you have those wires?
For a heat pump with heat strip backup, try telling the wyze app that you have the following wires:

R,Y,G,O/B,C,W2

You do not need to tell it about the jumpers on your old thermostat, that will just make it ask for those wires to be hooked up.

I did not tell Wyze about the jumpers.
I tried the install twice, once by selecting the wires from my current radio thermostat, and once by telling it the wires from my original, dumb thermostat.
Both times, the Wyze app told me to install the wires in the same order, as I pictured in my original post.
Here is what I told Wyze originally, coming from my current radio thermostat.