Wyze Lock Opinion

I’ve had my lock installed for half of a day now so as an expert, I thought I would share some of my thoughts and opinions about the Wyze lock. To start off, I would like to say that I am satisfied with my purchase and will most likely buy another one when they become available again. Below is a list of things, in my opinion, that would make the lock better. Perhaps these are things that are already being looked into, maybe considered for future versions, or perhaps were already rejected due to whatever reason.

The ability to create a rule (device trigger) that would allow you to trigger the lock to unlock. Currently, the only option right now is to trigger the lock to lock. I sort of understand why the team probably left this option out. Perhaps they felt that this could be a security issue/safety concern. However, this should be left up to the owner of the device to choose to use. I had a plan, thought of after my purchase, to create a rule that would unlock the door when a sensor was placed together for 1 minute. This sensor was going to be separated and hidden outside my house as a secret key to be used as an emergency. People leave spare keys hidden outside all of the time. Hell, I currently have one outside right now hidden. In my opinion, this is far safer because now you need to find both pieces to unlock my door.

This one is similar to the first and could be achieved if they were to allow the first. The ability o create a rule (shortcut) to unlock (and lock) the lock. Being able to create a shortcut such as this would make it quicker and easier to unlock and lock the door from the main screen of the app. Again, I understand why they probably didn’t add the unlock option to the rules, but this should be left up to the owner/user of the lock.