Wyze- Home Assistant Feature request has over 850 upvotes. Are you a home assistant fan? Are you interested? I could help you set it up!

I have been using Home Assistant for over 6 months now. I was wondering if you were interested in home assistant, and wyze, but don’t like all the privacy issues with cloud integrations like alexa, google, ifttt, samsung, what have you. I was hoping you could shoot on over to this feature request to upvote a Wyze Sense/Wyze Camera/Wyze Plug (hell)/Wyze Whatever integration into their platform.
Feature Request on the Wyze Forums for Home Assistant

I created a post on the home-assistant forums linking the feature request, it’s blown up in the past 2 months. Glad to see so many of us want to take back our smart home from the cloud.

If you’re interested in home assistant, and would like help getting started, well, this thread could do the trick. Ask me fairly well any question below, the possibilities are endless.

14 Likes

Terrific! Thank you for offering. As a technically capable person but complete newbie to Home Assistant:

1. What is the easiest way to get HAss running with or without Wyze products? I don’t care about Wyze RTSP vs. Dafang Hacks. That’s the easy part. I’m talking about getting up and running with at least some local control and local storage in a reliable fashion. Can I get recording, multiple vendor hardware, high availability to my own remote VPS, control via both mobile app and web browser…? Is there a ready to run package that includes many good common options and presets?

2. Should I start with a PC? A Pi? Multiple iterations?

3. Is there any hope of long term interoperability and stability similar to what is promised for Apple HomeKit?

4. Are the paid cloud components offered by Home Assistant developers (a) entirely optional and (b) completely replaceable by self hosted versions of the same thing?