Wyze Cam app requiring access to cellphone files, photos, media --is this a potential privacy risk?

The Wyze cam app requires access to “photos, media, and files” on my device. Is there any chance of this access being misused to compromise user privacy; i.e. to access information unrelated to the operation of the Wyze cam? Are there any workarounds?
Many Thanks

As with any app, only give permissions you know both you and the app need. For example, if the Wyze app is ever to store a clip permanently on your device, it needs permission to access your photo library so it can store the clip. If you never want it to save a clip, then you don’t have to give it permission.

Conversely, if an app asks for permissions it couldn’t possibly need, like if Wyze asked for permission to access your contacts, then you shouldn’t give it.

Just life with a mobile device.

3 Likes