Wyze 4+ years on

Wyze 4+ years on

I want to disclose that for many years I have been a Network/Systems admin for places such the government (1,000+ user office), Dell Research, Cable Company, etc. with over 20 years experience I’m not a network lightweight. [Mod Edit]

A few years ago I was very much security camera retarded however. Never interested me, that was for the security folks that monitored the physical aspects of the company. My job was the network infrastructure.

So I had decided I wanted to own a home in the location I wanted it but work from whatever state I saw fit. Bought and RV and decked it out with network equipment. And, I purchased several wyze cameras as a test since I was going to be over 1,000 miles away. I’m cheap, well on some things, shrug, so wyze cameras. And they worked well for the most part. I was able to know what was happening at my RV and the house wayyy up north in near real time. I ended up with most of the cameras outside under the eave of the house (second story to keep people from @#$!@$ with them) out the weather and out of direct sunlight. There were a couple on the outside of my RV also. Some inside the house and RV.

I eventually ran into issues with cameras that would become unresponsive (wireless noise levels mostly). Some would respond enough to reboot them and sometimes they were just down until power cycled. Not a problem for the RV cameras because I could just power-cycle them when I got home. But the house cameras up north, that was a 18 hour drive from me one way, big problem. So a caffeine induced weekend (cannonball run) later I had a kitchen timer on them that reset all the cameras twice a week. I was happy once again. Everything was functioning 98% and since I had camera overlap all was good. If a camera hung it would reboot in a day or so and until then an adjacent camera had it covered.