WiFi Extenders

Is there a Wifi extender that can be used with the cams? I have 6 cams and sensors, not to mention other wireless devices that use the Wifi making the cams go off line.

1 Like

From my personal experience and many reviews online, the very best WiFi Range Extender for just 2.4G is this one from Amazon: Netgear WiFi Range Extender EX2700 N300

I have 4 of them located around the house as I have real steel siding and High-E Windows on my house so getting a WiFi signal outside is a challenge. Because it only uses the 2.4GHz band it makes setup and reliable connection simple and reliable. I have been using them for many years and can count the drops on 2 fingers (both my fault).

3 Likes

So I’d need to connect to extender from wifi menu when I set up the cam?

That’s correct, basically. Whatever device you use for the Wyze App needs to be connected to the extender first. I use an old SmartPhone for doing all my connections, makes it simple and easy.

1 Like

Thank you

Personally, I prefer the EX3700 from Netgear. Up to 750 Mbps and 1000 Sq ft of coverage for up to 15 devices. Since I have a dual band router and use both bands, I was looking at a TP Link RE200/220 dual band(2.4Ghz/5Ghz) extender that had near the same specs with 2000 Sq ft(185 m²) of coverage but I couldn’t find it when I went back to Amazon so I went with Netgear for $29. Oddly enough, the RE220 still isn’t available on Amazon, though the RE200 is.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R92CL5E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_q4FaDbBM1KVDC

3 Likes

I would first determine if it is a lack of signal strength that is causing the problem, or if there is something else (capacity of the router to handle the requests, overloading of 2.4GHz channel by devices/neighbours/etc).