Widgets for Android

Hello Everyone, I am new to Wyze and the forum.

I am trying to combined many of my tech devices into one single vendor. Currently have Blink, Nest, Simplisafe and Kasa. Going to dump Nest and Kasa for Wyze. Not sure I will ever dump Blink or Simplisafe.

I have preordered the new Wyze thermostat and I just acquired the Wyze plugs. My question is this: Kasa has widgets for Android and groups. So I can group all my plugs and create a morning or evening routine that will put them all on or turn them all off from the widget.

Does Wyze have widgets or is it on their radar ? Can you group the plugs?

Thanks, Gene

1 Like

I’ve been waiting for Wyze to add widgets, there are several threads in the wishlist sub-forum requesting widgets.

3 Likes

Welcome to the Forum

I wouldn’t dump Kasa plugs for Wyze. There’s no advantage to haveing everything from the same vendor. Remember, Wyze doesn’t manufacture any of their hardware so you getting different brands anyway.

If you want averything in one app use Google and/or Alexa.

Well yes and no. There are some advantages in dealing with a single app and single set of subscriptions.

But interoperability has such appeal. I’m very (extremely) gradually headed toward a multivendor solution around either TinyCam or one of the NVR systems and Home Assistant.

I don’t think Wyze has Android widgets. There have been many times I wished it did - link to a single camera feed from the Android home / launcher screen for example.

However Wyze very much DOES have grouped cameras, other device groups, and rules in the app as well as good Alexa integration.

1 Like

I am very much a Google platform guy. All the home integrations. The appeal of the plugs, thermostat and doorbell under a single platform is why I am investigating Wyze.