Wi-Fi Reconnect/Reset Option on Thermostat (No App Required)

I know another gentleman posted something similar in this forum post from 2021, but the resolution is not addressing the problem I am experiencing with my Wyze Thermostat.

If possible, could the Wyze software engineers add an option accessible from the thermostat itself to restart the unit and have it reconnect to Wi-Fi? My thermostat shows as “offline” two or three times per week in the Wyze app as well as on the device itself. I am then forced to go outside to my breaker box and switch off the breakers to the HVAC and furnace systems, wait 30 seconds, and flip them back on to get the device to restart and reconnect where it is accessible from the Wyze mobile app.

Please do not post that all I need to do is pull the thermostat off the wall, wait 30 seconds, and reconnect it to the base. I am an electrical engineer and that method can trip or destroy the furnace breaker or create a short that could damage the thermostat itself as the contact pins are reinserted into the base that is already energized.

If this option cannot be added to the device for some reason (or I am stupidly missing the option when navigating the menus on the device), any educated advice as to a workaround would be appreciated. Trying to switch off the breakers in the hot, humid heat of a Texas Gulf Coast summer or in the middle of a rainstorm is not a pleasant user experience.

Thank you in advance to any member of the Wyze team or forum members that view and respond to this post!

This would be a great feature. Also, Wyze said sometimes in June (hopefully soon) they are going to be releasing an update for most Wyze products to address the issue where they go offline and stay offline until being power cycled. This sounds like the issue your having, so hopefully that fixes it :smiley:

1 Like