Speak English Tech Genius!

Literally LOL’d. Clicking its link will lead you to the thread content that provoked it. :wink:

A word picture:

A picture picture:

Hint: Click the caret to reveal the picture.

I was about to start a thread asking how much of a technical geek do you need to be to make use of all of the functionality of the Wyze cam/app.

I didn’t start working with computers until about 1974 when I was a student temp at IBM Burlington. My job was to slice chip wafers. I didn’t get my own personal computer until about 1985.
I spent from about 1986 until 2011 working various sysadmin type jobs and managing computers with VMS, Unix, and eventually MS-DOS :frowning: My first linux distro was on about 7 floppies, It ran GREAT on my new state of the art 386. So I have a good background in computers and networking.

But for the average “Jane” or “Joe” that wants to do things like watch their grass or child grow the complexity of getting all the parts working to their full potential is insurmountable.
They just want an eyeball or eyeball/ear combo to stick some place so they can see what is going on.

This community needs a section where new people can come and ask questions of those who have gone before, but get answers that are easily understood by the average 6th grader, like a US Army Field Manual.
There are 10 types of people in the world, those that can read binary and the rest.

5 Likes

I’m a bit of a hybrid. On the one hand, I hate tech. On the other, I love it - selectively. It is NOT a panacea.

Yet, honey, it is, it is. -Alexa, or Syri, or…

Mini rant:

The tech world is creating the world world (culture) and they have an attitude about it. They don’t seem to realize that those ex-tech whose future they’re driving detect the attitude. They may even disagree that they have an attitude in the aggregate. But they do. And it chafes a little. And sometimes even more
(depending on how close to the core of the trend you get.) :wink: