Sharing Diagnostic Information

Don’t Try This At Home. I Do Not encourage anyone to take apart there Wyze Devices unless you know what you are doing. That said, I am a Manufacturing Engineer who builds circuit boards and and electronic devices in the USA. I thought it would be beneficial in this forum for knowledgeable people to share their insights on hardware failures.

My story: My 2 week old WCO went offline after working well outdoors; even in some rain. The battery indicator still reported but there was no picture. I brought in then plugged it in to the USB charger. After a few seconds, smoke came out then everything went dead. Being curious, and an experienced troubleshooter, I disassembled my WCO. This voids the warranty and I will not be making any such claim. All the seals were intact during operation and appeared in good condition after taking it apart, There was no evidence of water inside; however, there was some corrosive residue on an IC on the switch board and a burned out trace on the ribbon cable. I used a meter to check the charger; finding both voltage and current good, so it was not an over voltage during charging. No immediate evidence of the cause of the problem I reported the issue, with a picture, to support. I do not work for Wyze. I believe that constructive feedback helps everyone.

3 Likes

I love when experts make very knowledgeable reports here. they are few and far between. and you took it in every correct path including support. ( especially making note of voiding the warranty here) have you run into such things before? might this just be the type of thing cause by a short circuit due to defect?

3 Likes