Running a Wyze Cam v2 off battery/solar

Hi everyone

New to the forum, and from South Africa. We have Wyze Cam v2 here and they affordable compared to the other brands we have here, almost half the price!!

I can see that my Wyze Cam v2 is powered by 5V and 500mA.

Would the device be able to handle 6V battery? Will this damage the unit?

I want to use a 6V battery and solar panel, instead of running long cables.

Thoughts?

6V may be a tad high. You can get something like this Step Down Transformer fairly cheaply though.

Upfront disclosure, I’m no electrician, and don’t claim to understand those intricacies.

But sometimes these things make no sense to me from an intuitive point of view.

I mean, don’t our house sockets all run on 120V? And we plug our cams directly into that without some converter and they work just fine on 120V.

“But that’s AC, and Batteries are DC”

Fair enough point, maybe that actually makes a big difference (I wouldn’t really know)…but what I do know is that people have posted about plugging their Wyze cams directly into their car DC plug or wired a special DC plug to the battery instead of the alternator (so it will run after the car turns off), and that’s all at 12V, and presumably they didn’t need a converter for that.

While not a Wyze cam, I plug things into my car DC sockets all the time that aren’t set for 12 volt, and have never had problems.

Regardless, I have been wondering about this, because I have an old solar powered electric fence device that uses/charges a 6V battery. I was considering converting this into a power source for a Wyze cam for my backyard, but wasn’t sure if I could just put in a DC outlet, or if I really needed a converter. Maybe better safe than sorry, but man, electricity can be ridiculously unintuitive and confusing.

In North America, yes the voltage coming from a wall receptacle is 120v AC.
The USB plug/adapter that came with your Wyze camera and phone convert that 120v AC (or 240v AC) to 5v DC.