Rules and schedule tips

I’m new to Wyze and really like many of the qualities, especially for the price point. I have been making rules and schedules but it doesn’t seem to be as simple as it looks like it should be. Can someone point me to an article that helps guide me through the highs and lows of automating my 1 Pan Cam and 2 V2s? I would like to buy more Wyze products but not until I know the automation works

4 Likes

This might help: How to Use Rules

1 Like

Thank you for your reply, Brlepage, but this only explains how easy I thought it should be but none of that seems to work for my cameras.
I have read many articles about rules and see that some people think it is as easy as select the camera, select the action and set a time as indicated in the link you provided but that seems to seldom work for me. The time to start a rule comes but nothing changes. Or things change to the rule but don’t go back after the end time. Sometimes the times come and go and nothing changes.

This is why I am looking for some tips or tricks that are not covered in that article.

If I set a start and end time to detect motion, should it detect during that time and stop at the end time or do I need a separate rule/schedule to go back to normal?

Can I tell 1 camera to start a recording event only after another one sees a person and then go back to not recording events? This would prevent dozens of event recording that are not desired.

It seems some people say you have to have a rule to start and a rule to stop. Some say the scheduling portion doesn’t work.

I am usually quite good at things as simple as rules seem but nothing seems to work so I am asking for someone with experience to guy me around the “gotcha’s” or “it seems odd but,” situations.

Is it really supposed t be as simple as the rules and schedules seem? If so, do I have defective products and need to source elsewhere?

2 Likes