Router Mysteries and WiFi madness

I live in a small two bedroom 1 bath Condo. Total square footage is around 1000 square feet. Max dimensions are about 30’ wide by 40’ long cut up into the various rooms and hallways.

Easily covered by a single router. In fact I pick up my WiFi 60’ away in the parking lot well enough to watch Netflix in HD on my tablet. I have a lot of devices and they were all working ‘flawlessly’ on my 3 year old Netgear 5300 Router running in Bridge mode. I saw a few issues with my Ring Video doorbell, and once in awhile I had to power cycle a Wyze camera and bridge. And Hulu, and only Hulu would occasionally get laggy and have audio sync issues.

But heck I am an IT professional and I know my stuff so I was confident my gear was setup correctly and a recent site survey said I was getting rocking signal all over.

I have a newer Linksys router that my ‘work’ stuff connects to, and it was rock solid and so was everything connected to it. But it got me thinking. That lead to a quick trip to Office Depot and I came home with a new Linksys Max Stream router with the latest in beam forming tech etc.

Shut down the 3 year old Netgear router plug the same SSID and password info into the new router, update the firmware, set it into Bridge access point mode and voila everything in the iot world connects to the new Router.

WOWSA! What a difference, no more Hulu issues, Cameras connect immediately, Ring Doorbell has zero delay now. Signal strength and site survey yield almost exactly the same metrics but something changed!

Lesson learned, even when everything looks fine, it may not be. 3 years is a lifetime in technology and the software and hardware in routers today is head and shoulders better than 3 years ago.

*Edit changed Nite Hawk to Max Stream. My bad!

12 Likes

@rbruceporter, my OCD is acting up and I am itching for specifics.

Please, the exact model of your Linksys Nighthawk Router?