Regular formatting of SD card?

Have a couple of Wyze cams working fine, doing continuous recording to SD card with no real issues

Have now just bought a Dash Cam, and one of the menu options was “Format warning”
I queried this with them and was told Yes, you should regularly format card, say once a month, and this option triggers the user to do that.
I hadn’t really considered that an SD might need that regular maintenance

I don’t recall Wyze stating that this might be a requirement, although Googling the subject does indicate its something which is beneficial, speed and capacity wise , after all they are based on the FAT format and we all used used to defrag our PCs quite regularly .

What are the groups thoughts on the subject ?

1 Like

I am not an Engineer, but I have friends that are :grinning::grinning: The format/do not format debate is full of misinformation. This is how it was explained to me.

First of all SD cards do not physically suffer from fragmentation like magnetic storage media does. The access time for any gate on the card is identical, there are no moving parts so no penalty for non contiguous storage or access.

Second “Erasing vs Formatting”, Erasing files from a card like on a magnetic drive simply marks the gates used by the file as available again. Formatting or as us old timers call it Low Level Formatting physically resets each gate to its default state and tests the gate for responsiveness and ability to accept and hold a state. This is why its slower.

For cameras its called “initialize” the card. And what exactly that means varies from camera to camera vendor and even model. For some it means erase the card, for others it means format the card.