Prevent deleted cloud footage with reset/stolen Wyze cam

I agree that it would be nice if the clips stayed with the account even if the camera is transferred to another account. I just don’t think it works that way.

And no, if a camera is transferred to another account, the new account does NOT have access to the clips recorded under the old account, they just disappear.

As for how to test it… simple (not necessarily easy)… create a 2nd Wyze account using a different email. Take an existing camera that has some clips in the cloud, and set it up to the new account. Then log out and back into the original account and see if the clips are still there. I don’t think they will be.

I did this very experiment a while back and that was the result. As I said, “unless it’s changed”, that’s how it works. If I remember, I’ll do the experiment again to be sure (unless you beat me to it).

1 Like

Before I try the experiment, one more question. Will the cam automatically be deleted from the app if the cam is registered to a different account?

This happened to me when I reset one of my Wyze cams, so I can confirm this happens. Wyze cam started acting buggy error code 90 after unplugging it from power(cat knocked it to the ground few times so I wont blame the camera). Anyway after resetting the camera, I looked back in my account and all the events from the camera were gone, didn’t bother to check the sd card though.

Yes it will. When done with the experiment, you will need to set it up again under the original account.

I stand corrected . thank you good sir

I just re-did the experiment and confirmed what I said above. When you set up a camera to a new account, the cloud clips are gone from the old account and the camera is no longer visible in the old account. I am not sure it’s even feasible to retain the old clips in the old account after the camera is “gone” because when the camera gets deleted from the old account, there is no longer any reference to it, and hence nothing to tie the id’s of the old clips to.

2 Likes

thank you

2 Likes

Good to know this. This makes the Max Drive (real time recording) very important for those of us who use WYZE for home security. Strongly recommend that the cloud video from a cam not be wiped if camera is stolen. Those 12 second recordings may contain vital info to resolve a crime.

3 Likes

This feature is even more important now that the MaxDrive has been indefinitely delayed/cancelled. During the Wyze Bulb AMA it was mentioned that the MaxDrive was dead, I asked if it was just delayed or completely scrapped but didn’t get a response.

I noticed something and I wanna report it maybe you can help and improve your app for our safety

One day I disconnect my camera by accident then I tried to check the playback or the events but I wasn’t able to do because my camera is disconnected

So my question is what if a robber came into my house and disconnect the cameras, he can steal everything and no one will know him

I wonder if you guys can improve the app so we can use it even if the camera is off or at least we can have access to the cloud that you use for storage so we can check the events and the playback

No I don’t mean if the camera by itself is stolen

I meant if just take it off from the power we can’t check the event

If we can have an access to the cloud or at least if we can check the event when there no power or internet connected to the camera

Your event clips are stored on the cloud in your account .
You can see all of your event clips in the event list up until the time power was off

1 Like

How can I access my cloud account??

1 Like

Your cloud account is your event list, the only videos stored on the cloud are your 12 second event clips and those are all in the event list in the app

2 Likes

Status upgraded to in development!

1 Like

I’m glad that this is getting implemented. For anyone who might be following this topic, this one is closely related, and you may want to vote here too.

1 Like

This seems to have been fixed., not sure when. If I add my camera to another account, simulating a theft, I can still view event up to 14 days old from that camera. The name is displayed as the MAC address.

1 Like

Are you on the #beta app and firmware?

Apparently they made a change in 2.6.36 so that event videos would still be available even if the device was deleted

4 Likes

So I still do not see an answer for the question that I have… I have two wyze cameras setup and I have a renter in my home who went to one room but it’s upstairs and he must go to an outside back patio in order to gain access to the downstairs house to use the kitchen or the laundry room.

I have noticed that occasionally he has a friend with him and I will see both of them come from his upstairs room down the stairs on the covered back patio and both can be observed on camera to entering the back patio door to my home…

Upon entering that back patio to the downstairs portion of the house camera one is trained on that area and should pick them up with motion detection for a person and continue to observe them as they are in the kitchen.

But what I have observed is that I can see both of them coming down from the upstairs apartment on the back covered patio down to the ground level or house level downstairs and I can see both of them entering at the back patio glass door on camera to only. I know that there is a brief blind-spot always because you have to enter into that back patio door and eventually walk maybe 6 feet before you can be observed by camera in the kitchen but looks through the dining room towards that door. But what I have observed is the renter only is entering into the view of camera one and walks into the kitchen as if he’s had it for the laundry room with laundry clothes in hand.

But I never see any footage Afters at 12 second shot showing him and friend in the kitchen at a time when they normally used to be coming into the kitchen which is typically on a Monday morning.

So I see both coming down from upstairs and heading toward the back patio door to the house downstairs on camera to but I only see him so I see both coming down from upstairs and heading toward the back patio door to the house downstairs on camera to but I only see him coming out of the blind spot wants you enter that door and going straight through because it into the laundry room which is not observed but I never see him come out of the laundry room usually which can be observed on camera one and I never see the friend stepping out of the blind spot between camera too and Camera one into the view of camera one and I never see any 12 second video clips of both of them in the kitchen and all… Or really exiting the kitchen or the house back into the view of cam 2.

So I’m wondering what I am seeing or not seeing. Could he be walking into the kitchen towards the laundry room and simply unplugging camera one? There by not being observed having a friend come into the kitchen which is okay but I want to see…

Could he be unplugging camera one for the duration of their time in the kitchen and then going back towards the laundry room after the friend has left and plug-in camera one back in and then he now walks out of the camera one viewing area and back out of the house picking up the friend in the blind-spot as they exit out the back door again?

How can one tell if someone is unplugging the camera for a duration of time and then plugging it back in later after they have finished being in that area unobserved and then exit out of the area while the camera is rebooting itself or starting back up?

Are there any user app detectable events that would indicate to me that the camera went off and came back on or the camera lost connectivity to power and or Internet and regained power in or internet at a later time?

A power and or Internet event entry would be nice to see in the timeline so that I can tell that all but he walked in later the camera reported that it had to start itself back up so I’ll know that there was a gap in power in or Internet?