Plug-In Transformer to Power Doorbell over Cat5

I am trying to power my Wyze Video Doorbell using existing Cat5e cabling that runs from my rack to the doorbell. The run is about 75-125 feet. I have searched the forums on this topic but couldn’t find an answer for this specific configuration. I found this plug-in 24V/1A PoE 802.3af transformer on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/EB-LINK-Ethernet-Injector-Compliant-appliances/dp/B07TC7SW5N

Here is what I am thinking:

1. Plug this transformer into a wall outlet in my rack closet
  2. Plug the doorbell Cat5 cable to the output port (I don’t need to run any data through this cable)
  3. At the Wyze end of the Cat5 cable, strip the plug and twist pins 4/5 for positive and 7/8 for negative (that is brown+white/brown and blue+white/blue, per the 802.3af mode b spec)
  4. Wire positive and negative to the Wyze Video Doorbell

That seems to me like it should work, but I am no electrician.

Thanks for your input!

I’m no electrician either, but it sounds like that should work, the only thing I’m not sure about is the voltage, the doorbell specs are 16V-24V AC, ≥10VA, and this power supply is 24v 1a.

Electrician here. That power supply puts out 24va.

Thanks for the feedback guys. I realize that the transformer puts out 24va, but what I don’t know is if that is too much. Wyze advises that the doorbell requires a “minimum voltage of 16V and power output of 10VA”, but it doesn’t say anything about the MAXIMUM. If this transformer won’t work, what is the acceptable range of volts and amps for a transformer in this context? Also, my googling says that VA = V*A, but if that is wrong please advise (duh, I know, but never hurts to ask!).

Too much VA isn’t an issue, the doorbell will only take what it needs. You might have more of an issue with voltage drop, but the doorbell has a pretty wide range of acceptable voltages, so it should work.

1 Like