Night Vision Question

I just got camera number two this one is Cam Pan
Any way not to get reflection back when looking out a window at night?
I would like to use night Vision to keep a eye out for Wolfs, Raccoons, Skunks, Deer and Rabbits in the early morning when sun just is coming up.
I would like to use night Vision if I can if I can’t I am good with that also.
I love both products

1 Like
1 Like

Thanks I am new to the whole night Vision

1 Like

No problem. IR pretty much reflects off anything. If you search IR Illumination you can find a decent device for a decent cost. I’d also recommend watching video reviews of what your researching as all of them are different.

Thanks for helping me learn about the cameras

1 Like

How does one turn off the local ir on a pan cam?

1 Like

No problem at all.

Here’s my outdoor set up. When I turn night mode off on this camera the image goes black. Why do you think that happens?

I need to clear up a couple points here…

1. It is not currently possible to turn off the IR LEDs (emitters) on the camera without also turning off night vision. However, the ability to turn off the camera’s IR LEDs but have night vision on is in beta testing. Actually, it has been temporarily pulled from beta testing while a problem that cropped up is worked out. But it should be back soon, and probably out to the production app within maybe a month.

2. If you purchase an external IR illuminator, make sure to get one that matches the camera’s wavelength. The V2 uses 850nm emitters, the Pan uses 940nm.

3. There are several such IR Illuminators available on Amazon in the $20-30 range. Several of them are reviewed in other threads here. Search for IR Illuminator here in the forum.

4. You do need to have night vision on to use an external illuminator, otherwise the IR filter will be in place and block the IR light. Thus, if the camera remains behind glass, you will need to wait until the new “night vision without IR LEDs” feature is released.