Mod Edit: Investigation of latest firmware after a router detected port scanning

Attention!
Firmware update 4.36.8.15 (upgraded yesterday 2021-12-06) for Wyze Cam 3 contains malware.

Likely attack on Wyze servers

Extremely unlikely and not okay to post here without proof. Just because your android app that ‘scans for malware’ can’t understand the code in the Wyze firmware does not make it malware.

That is not a scanning app. That is AI router monitoring activity on network. the proof - you can see a screenshot

Btw: port scanning is not malware (I’m a Network Engineer & Wyze explained this at least 2 years ago).
Port Scanning is Not Malware - Wyze

1 Like

That’s not proof of malware. Many devices scan UDP ports nonmaliciously.

This was found with a quick google search of “Wyze port scanning”. Lol

The situation in your link is different - iphone from wan bombarding the external address where the cam sits behind.

In my case there is no app or smartphone is involved at all. The cam itself port-scans other devices on my network for no apparent reason

And another: https://twitter.com/wyzecam/status/1026907612565069824?s=21

Your so wrong,there’s no way that it could happen and we just checked all of our 12 sites and nothing found you need to make sure before you post such issue

Again this your link is about port forwarding / NAT for Wan-Lan connection.
This is understandable, legitimate and even essential.

But there is no legitimate reason for Wyze Cam to scan Lan devices.

Lan’s gateway is known to Wyze Cam by default. DNS etc addresses also too.
So what is the real reason for Wyze cam to test ports on my printer / NAS / TV etc?

It is like telling a police - I’ve tried to open all entrance doors on this street because I want to fly to Mexico but was not sure how to check in and where the airport is