How to test sensors?

I’m new to this part of the Wyze ecosystem. I’m not seeing how you test a given sensor. For example, I intend to put two contacts on my garage, but I don’t know if they have enough range. I’d like to see on my phone the state of the contacts somehow so I know they are making it. Same with the motion sensors.

I used to install security for a living, high end residential, commercial, and military applications. We tested each sensor thoroughly, and then set the system up so that we could monitor for a few days without dispatch, to make sure none of the sensors were tripping when they shouldn’t. I’m not seeing how to do this with Wyze.

Could I possibly kludge something up with rules to turn on a wyze plug?

Assume you are trying to test HMS. You can just put it in test mode and verify everything but dispatch works. If you don’t want to setup HMS you can do what you suggest but you’ll still need to run the setup at some point. Doing it first allows you to test the entire system and not just the sensors.

Ok, I was looking to just test the sensors before I trust them in the whole system.

thanks

You CAN add the hub and sensors through the add device process. However, I’ve heard there can be problems with the sensors if you do it that way. Then you’d need to remove the devices and run the HMS installation process anyway.

Since they are part of the whole system I don’t understand the hesitation to just set the whole thing up and test all the parts.

The Wyze Sense v2 of sensors are standalone hardware, that is currently only sold and integrated with hms. The sensors have their own notification settings outside of the hms alerting system. Put hms in test or leave disarmed. Then test the individual sensors for response while watching their individual device page in the Wyze app to see status and history.

2 Likes