Help with initial set up "Networking cryption method not supported"?

Hey everyone,
I am new to setting up the cameras- and when I scan the QR code, it does read it, but then it comes back with a voice prompt “Networking cryption method not supported”? What is that and how do I fix it?
thanks

Well, you need to log onto your router and add some wireless security.

The only encryption methods the cams understand are the WPA & WPA2 protocols. The more modern of the two is WPA2, and is preferred.

Now, exactly how you do that is different on every router. If you have access to an computer version of the manual for your router, search for the term “WPA” (some older routers won’t have WPA2).

If all else fails, tell us the exact model router you have from the SN plate (probably on the bottom). Someone here may recognize it.

After you change encryption, you will probably have to reeducate all your devices to use the new setup. But if you aren’t already using WPA or WPA2, then you probably need to change them anyway (you aren’t secure).

3 Likes

Newshound,
Thankyou so much for the reply and so fast too. I was wondering about the security aspect of all this. I am searching for the method to do so with my current router. But, are you saying that ALL the rest of my devices (CPU, Alexa, Phone, etc… ) will have to be updated as well in order to still be active on the router? I guess I am just lost in all this technology stuff.

Yes, depending on how your router is set up now your wireless devices will probably need to start using a password. If they are using something like the very old WEP protocol, then you may be able to use the same password (if it’s over 8 characters), but you will still need to reeducate your wireless devices to use the WPA or WPA2 protocol.