Guitar Instructor Looking To Record Sessions For Legal Protection

Hello and thank you for any information in advance.

I am a guitar instructor and teach students of all ages in my home. I require the parents of anyone under the age of 18 to stay in the class and they generally would anyway, but once they become comfortable with me they generally will either wait outside or drop off then pick up their child.

My wife and I were chatting last night about protection in the event someone decided to try and claim inappropriate behavior. We both agreed that video with audio of all of the sessions stored for an undetermined period of time would be the most effective.

I’m looking for the most logical and cost effective way to do this. The Wyze products have great reviews and prices, but how can I store months or years of sessions locally vs. cloud storage, which seems understandably limited?

I appreciate any advice or recommendations.

1 Like

There’s a couple options I can think of without getting into RTSP firmware and a DVR. You could turn the camera on for each teaching session with the SD card set to continuous recording, and then as the SD card gets full, you could remove the card and transfer the videos to a storage device to save them. Then turn the camera off between classes. After using it a bit, you should be able to determine how many hours you get on an SD card before it gets full and starts to overwrite.
Another way, if you determine you get say a week on an SD card, would be to replace it once per week, but that would get expensive.

1 Like

To be honest, don’t get a Wyzecam for this. They do not offer what you need.
You want something that is 100% reliable, and that you can archive footage for months / years, and it most likely would have to be for years.

Wyze does have limited recording ability, but, it isn’t always 100% reliable, and even with CMC, there is no easy way to offload the footage to archival backup.