Glitchy

Newbie here! I bought and installed 2 Pan Cams. I am in the 14 day free trial of the Cam Plus feature with 4 days remaining. I also have SD cards in both cameras.
I am finding that I am having to restart the cams at least 1x daily. It will stop giving me notifications. Sometimes, it will show that there isn’t an SD card. Restarting fixes these issues but this is glitchy. How can I rely on getting notifications in case of a home security issue? Am I missing something? I plan to subscribe (pay the fee) for the cloud service to get notifications but so far the trial has been unreliable.

1 Like

Hi @phyllis16 and welcome to the community forum.
Take the uSD cards out and see if the truuble persists.
Test the card in a computer:

• Check the disk with the command line C:\Windows\system32>ChkDsk X: /r Where X is the uSD card
  • Format the uSD card and un-check the default “Quick” option so it can mask out bad cells.

If the camera is attempting to record over a bad cell it will retry several times and may cause glitchy performance.

1 Like

Thank you. I was not able to format with a computer. My Mac doesn’t have a SD slot. My daughter’s Windows laptop doesn’t either.
The app does allow me to format the SD card. I did that. Will see…

Hi @phyllis16 The format in the Wyze app will not check for errors or map out bad cells. It is a “Quick Format”.

Quick format just marks the partition as “formatted” and destroys the journal that keeps tracks of the files and their locations on hard drive.

Full format will clear files completely from the partition, rebuild the file system, volume label, and cluster size, and scans partition for logical bad sectors; that’s why full format is slower than quick format. Wyze devices must always use the FAT32 format.

To perform a Full Format, a uSD adapter such as the one pictured below is required. You can also use this to pull information off the cards or put a new image on the Wyze using the manual update process.