Educational Wyze watch and App/PWA

A little background, I am a middle school health teacher and I have been for the past 7 years, however, before that I taught physical education for 6 years at the elementary level. I currently work closely with our physical education department and am the Google/Technology resource person for student/teacher-facing software at our school.

Our Phy. Ed. department utilizes Polar heart rate monitors and software to track student effort/progress throughout the year. The heart rate monitor they currently use is the Polar A370 ($150+) (Amazon.com) and the software they use is called Polar GoFit ($0-$500/year) (Polar GoFit User Guide for Teacher).

Essentially, they use the combination of these two tools to track and measure students’ “time in zone”. Heart rate zones are are pre-programmed into the watches via the app so that students’ can see what zone they are in as their heart rate rises or falls.

The reason why I am sending this is because this Polar program seems to have no competitors. Our Phy. Ed. department came to me today and informed me that Polar informed them that they no longer make/sell the A370 model they were using previously and now the only model they can buy is an updated version that costs $300+ (this doesn’t appear to be true but it is what the salesperson informed us). Our school serves 1300+ students each day, but our budget is not sufficient to meet the rising cost of upkeep related to these watches along with other needs.

If Wyze is interested, my suggestion would be to enter the education market and the tracker/software/app would essentially need to do three things:

1. Wrist-based heart rate & step tracker

2. Tracker must easily display current heart rate, time in zone (programmable), steps taken and the current time.

3. Android, Web/PWA, iOS application that anonymizes student names so that heart rates can be displayed via tablet/computer/projector without displaying student names.