Connecting to WYZE

Total newb. Can WYZECam connect directly to phone/tablet/laptop, or does it require an internet connection? I am looking to use a WYZECam on an ROV (Remotely Operated Vehicle) for exploring dangerous caves/mines. The camera offers more than what I need, but I need a direct link from camera to phone/tablet/laptop. The areas to be used in will be far too remote for inet connections. Thanks

1 Like

It needs an Internet Connection to boot up and transmit video.

1 Like

Sounds like what you need, but doesn’t work anymore.

1 Like

Honestly, even with the way it used to work, i don’t know if it would help or not. Depends how deep into a cave it’s going, I guess. You’d still need a wireless signal that would connect to both your phone AND the camera. Cave walls are pretty dense.

Thanks much everybody.

@NERDLAND; I can usually keep line of sight. I send the ROV in first, then walk along carefully watching the video feed. I mount a four gas detector on it, so if it hits bad air the alarm lets me know long before I get there. The video feed lets me know if the roof or walls are jinky. I also started fastening a 120 pound test line to the back after I lost one down a 1000 foot vertical shaft. LOL But better it than me.

2 Likes

We want pictures!!
That must be awesome!

If you can keep line of sight, you may be able to hotspot it off your phone’s Wi-Fi.

I don’t think his phone is getting a signal deep in a cave.

Once I connect to the my v2’s live feed, I can turn off the phone’s cellular and continue watching the feed on my phone over Wi-Fi.

Personally, I would use a Go-Pro or something that makes a direct connection to the phone but that is me.

1 Like

My understanding is that he and his phone are both outside of the cave.