Another camera purchase

I have a wyze cam 2 purchased a week ago for my dog in his bed in the kitchen. If I purchase a wyze outdoor cam (set to show just my front door) is it easy to install and set up? I ask because I’m in my 70s, I live alone, I’m very nervous at night time, and I’m not very tech savvy. So I would be very grateful for any guidance regarding the right camera and it’s set up please. Thank you in advance.

You should first decide with outdoor camera is best for your use. All of these options should be pretty simple for you to set up. You can always post your questions here too.
Here’s a few options:
Wyze Cam V3:
Hard-wire-powered camera. Wyze’s newest version of their flagship camera. New features include: a faster processor, more frames per second, wider view, starlight sensitivity, built-in siren, and outdoor capability. The camera can save to a local SD card by recording motion or recording continuously 24 hours a day(similar to the V1, V2, and Pan cameras).
Wyze Outdoor Camera:
Battery-powered camera. This camera has a PIR sensor that it uses for motion detection. The camera requires a base station (4 cameras per base). This one has not been upgraded to a starlight sensor yet. Doesn’t record to an SD card like the the V2,V3, and Pan cameras, it must be configured using scheduled recording instead. Live streaming must be limited to save battery power.

My suggestion is to use the Wyze Cam V3 if you have a power outlet that can be used to power it. The starlight sensor in the V3 also allows it to be placed in a window and still provide good day/night video.

2 Likes

if you set up a wyze Cam V2 then you will be able to set up the wyze cam outdoor because it is actually easier to set up, but you must have the outdoor base to go with it, it will not work without it

1 Like

This!